Cart 0
Cart 0
Copy of _MG_9729.jpg

Welcome to PNINS for 2019


What's happening at PNINS



For the past 15 years PNINS has taking a team of students to the NZ AIMS Games. Last year we had a very successful year and brought home 20 medals.
The games are held in Tauranga over a week from 8th to 14th of September. PNINS will be looking at taking 40 students to the games this year.
Students are selected from past sporting results and trials are overseen by the Sports Coordinator.
The sports that we take are determined by the current students and their sporting results/ability
Once the team is selected those students take part in the PNINS AIMS programme which teaches students to apply the 5 Keys in a sporting environment alongside a strength and conditioning training programme.

We are currently seeking expression of interest for students that would like to be considered for this team.
Once we have an overview of students wanting to be involved we will start any necessary trials and collection of sporting results/ability.

We encourage all students interested to put their name forward even if they are unsure of their ability on a national level.



International Languages

As in previous years, PNINS is offering after school language lessons in Terms 2 and 3. This year we are offering Spanish, Mandarin, German and Japanese language classes.

All tutors are experienced in teaching languages at level 1 and 2.

Classes run for 20 weeks from the beginning of Term 2 from 3.30-4.30pm and are held at PNINS.

The cost of the language programme is $115 per language.

This is payable once you have been put into a class and can be paid for through the school website or office.

Lessons are set for the following week days.

  • Spanish - Tuesday and Thursday

  • German - Wednesday

  • Japanese - Monday and Friday

  • Mandarin - Friday

Most Sports Training’s will be set for before school and Lunch times however some will be after school.
We will try our best to accommodate for these clashes however in some cases it may not be possible.

Please fill in the below form to join a Language lesson, We can not guarantee you will get the lesson day you want.
Sign Ups close on Monday 8th April

Mary-Poppins (1).png

‘Disney’s Mary Poppins Junior’ 2019

In November 2019 Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School will be the first school in New Zealand to stage the junior version of this show. We will also be the only school to stage ‘Disney’s Mary Poppins Junior’ for a number of years as the rights to both the junior show and the larger show have now been withdrawn indefinitely due to a professional production once gain being mounted in Australia.

As a lot of you will be aware PNINS has developed a name over the last ten years for staging quite remarkable productions and ‘Disney’s Mary Poppins Junior’ is the perfect show with which to continue this tradition.

Auditions will be held in Week One of Term Two on Thursday May 2nd. These initial auditions will happen during the day (9:00 – 3:00) and Call Backs will then continue after school over the following few weeks. Holding the auditions after the holidays gives the children plenty of time to be practicing their song for their audition.

Prior to auditions being held, there will be an information evening for both parents and students at PNINS on Thursday April 4th at 7:00PM in Te Tihi, our Performing Arts Centre. At this evening information regarding the audition process and requirements as well as rehearsal commitments etc.

Auditions are open to all students – not just students that are already in performing arts groups. Children intending to audition for our production of  ‘Disney’s Mary Poppins Junior’ are asked to register via the school website.


The Five Keys


PNINS Newsletter


Thanks to our PNINS Supporters